account arrowhead-down arrowhead-up mobile-menu search sm-bold-x x-skinny-rounded x-skinny arrowhead-right social-facebook social-googleplus social-instagram social-linkedin social-pinterest social-qzone social-renren social-tencent social-twitter social-vkontakt social-weibo social-youku social-youtube

Please help us improve our website

Take our customer survey to evaluate your visit.

It should only take a few minutes to answer five quick questions. Just click the Launch survey button at the end of your visit to begin.

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Tips & Tricks

Troubleshoot, find support articles, run tests directly on your phone with the support application.
Read more and discuss the app here.

Forgot screen lock, how can I reset my device?

One time poster
Message 1 of 2
480 Views
Message 1 of 2

Forgot screen lock, how can I reset my device?

I've lost track of my passcode, so please let me know how to reset it only body

1 REPLY 1
Sony Xperia Support
Message 2 of 2
456 Views
Message 2 of 2

Re: Forgot screen lock, how can I reset my device?

Hi @Tokyoboy, welcome to our forum!

There are two ways to remove a screen lock, however both of them will reset the device and all data stored on the internal storage will be deleted.

You can either reset the device using a computer and our program called Xperia Companion and you can find further instructions if you click here. The other option is to use the Google service called "Find my Device" to reset your device.

To reset the Xperia device using Find My Device

  1. If your SD card isn't encrypted or used in a corporate environment, remove it before you perform the reset. Turn off the Xperia device before you remove the SD card. Turn the device back on when you have removed the SD card.
  2. On a computer or in a mobile browser, go to www.android.com/find.
  3. Sign in to the Google Account that you previously added to your device.
  4. If you have more than one device, select the device that you're locked out of at the top of the screen.
  5. Select Erase. Be aware that this action will permanently erase all of your data, for example, your apps, photos and music. After you erase the content of your device, Find My Device will no longer work on it.
  6. After you remotely erase the content of your device, you can set up your device again with your Google account and a new screen lock.

Make sure that you have your Google credentials at hand, as you will need to unlock the anti theft protection using them after the device has been reset.

Let me know if that helps! Slightly smiling Face


Official Sony Xperia Support Staff


If you're new to our forums, make sure that you've read our Discussion guidelines.

To get in touch with your local support team, please visit our contact page.