account arrowhead-down arrowhead-up mobile-menu search sm-bold-x x-skinny-rounded x-skinny arrowhead-right social-facebook social-googleplus social-instagram social-linkedin social-pinterest social-qzone social-renren social-tencent social-twitter social-vkontakt social-weibo social-youku social-youtube

Please help us improve our website

Take our customer survey to evaluate your visit.

It should only take a few minutes to answer five quick questions. Just click the Launch survey button at the end of your visit to begin.

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Welcome to the Open Devices community!

This is where we discuss open source and development related questions on our Open Devices initiative.

Beginner questions

SOLVED
Learner
Message 1 of 5
Message 1 of 5

Beginner questions

Hi,

I have just bought a Sony Xperia X because of Sony Open Device initiative.

I am clearly a beginner in Android development but I have some experience in firmware development.

I have some basic questions (I have searched before the answers on this forum and xda-dev).

Sorry in advance if answers already exist.

I am interested in replacing Sony stock rom with Google apps by Sony AOSP.

- Where can I find Sony AOSP binary ?
If not available, I have found information at https://developer.sony.com/develop/open-devices/guides/aosp-build-instructions/build-aosp-nougat-8-1... how to build it.

- What is contained in Software binaries for AOSP Oreo (Android 8.1) – Kernel 4.4 – Loire (SW_binaries_for_Xperia_Android_8.1.6.4_r1_v15_loire.img) ? Only Sony kernel ? or is this flash vendor image ?

- What is Open source archive for 43.0.A.5.80 ? Complete Sony AOSP source code with kernel ?

Is it the same as AOSP tree described in https://developer.sony.com/develop/open-devices/guides/aosp-build-instructions/build-aosp-nougat-8-1... ?

Thanks.

Kind regards

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Developer World
Message 5 of 5
Message 5 of 5

Re: Beginner questions