Please help us improve our website

Take our customer survey to evaluate your visit.

It should only take a few minutes to answer five quick questions. Just click the Launch survey button at the end of your visit to begin.

Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
Announcements

What do you think about our community?

Take a moment and share your thoughts around this community by doing this short survey.

Reply
Anonymous(anon)
Posts: 0

Re: Actual RAM..!!

apc-user

:smileyhappy: Yes I know - I like Mini Info because you can arrange it after your own taste and besides the info about Battery - Disk - Memory card - CPU/RAM is also give you chance to monitoring WIFI - Bluetooth - GPS - Volume - Screen brightness - APN etc. And I notice that the Screen brightness also give you Min - Max and also Auto brightness. Other Apps dont show all this info - not the one I have tried that is. :smileyplain:

Anonymous(anon)
Posts: 0

Re: Actual RAM..!!

Yes I agree with you. This app does show more information. Only thing I am wondering is if it causes the CPU to work harder ==> more battery usage:smileyhappy:

Moderator
slimshaddy
Posts: 6,623
Registered: ‎2011-06-28

Re: Actual RAM..!!

Ok..i installed some apps..and the total RAM came down to 270mb..why the installing of apps Affecting the RAM:-(

Sony Xperia Support
Jake-SonyXperiaSupport
Posts: 2,345
Registered: ‎2011-02-07

Re: Actual RAM..!!

After installing an application you may find that it is still running in the background, checking the Running Services will show the active processors using the Ram, remember Running Services in applications is the only location that will show available Ram. Some applications may require a constant process to stay running in the background to enable the service that it provides which will be shown within Running Services.

Try power cycling the handset you will notice the amount of RAM will change until you start opening applications.

 


sony_logo126x24.gif
What are your thoughts about this forum? Let us know by doing this short survey.


Moderator
slimshaddy
Posts: 6,623
Registered: ‎2011-06-28

Re: Actual RAM..!!

Sir I wasnt talking about the available ram..i was talking aboutvthe total i.e. Used and free..  Sir see my very 1st post..there the total ram is 299 and now today I checked the total ram is 259.. I.e. 129 mb used and 130 mb free:-/ m asking after installing apps why does the total ram decreases..:smileyplain::smileyplain:

Moderator
slimshaddy
Posts: 6,623
Registered: ‎2011-06-28

Re: Actual RAM..!!

up..

Moderator
slimshaddy
Posts: 6,623
Registered: ‎2011-06-28

Re: Actual RAM..!!

and whats this power cycling ?

Anonymous(anon)
Posts: 0

Re: Actual RAM..!!

we all facing same issue, SE managment, you gotta refund us money!:smileysilly:

Moderator
slimshaddy
Posts: 6,623
Registered: ‎2011-06-28

Re: Actual RAM..!!

ok plz SE reply..

u said that arnd 200 mb ram is used byu the android..

first question : why does it uses RAM..and why not sd card space etc..

( i'm not a techy so will love to hear from any one)

and even id the android took arnd 200mb

why is the android processes uses more 150mb ??

like when we go to settings > applications > manage applications > running services

here its wriiten normally

150 mb used 150 mb free..

so this 150mb used..why is the phone using this ??

it means that we only get 150mb out of 512 mb RAM..??

Anonymous(anon)
Posts: 0

Re: Actual RAM..!!

ok, here's how I see it.

The 200Mb used by Android is basically all the processes that Android needs

to keep your phone working - so things like basic file system access, network

access so on and so forth. This is in RAM because they are currently

running processes - its the same as any other operating system, and we don't

see it in the list simply because we don't need to see them, or touch them in

any way.

As for the 300Mb thats left, looking at my Arc right now, it says there is 150Mb

used, and 148Mb free. The list that shows up is things that are running on top

of the Android system - any apps that are open, and things that Sony (and in my

case the operator, Vodafone) have added to the system.

So as far as I;m concerned, it all makes sense. Yes, I would've liked more RAM,

but then I've been wanting more RAM in my laptop, desktop and netbook for

years - its a situation I'm used to! :smileyhappy: