Announcements

What do you think about our community?

Take a moment and share your thoughts around this community by doing this short survey.

One time poster
Akshay-XperiaS

How to boot in Recovery Mode.

To all the gadget gurus out there.. I wanted to boot my xperia S in recovery mode. My touchscreen has stopped working and I cannot access anything in the phone. I wanted to hard-reset my phone without using the touchscreen. I have read in many forums that " Volume-up + Power button at the splash screen when led turns blue at start-up" will boot the phone in recovery mode.. But sadly i dont notice a blue led at start-up and whats a splash screen?? Do i need some sort of a recovery file copied into the phone before booting?? Sorry noob here..

Master
Thommo

Re: How to boot in Recovery Mode.

In this case the recovery file for the Xperia S has to be flashed but as far as I'm aware this will not allow you to do a hard reset - In my case the recovery flash file is used to install things like custom roms or superuser for the use of Rooting

In your case I'm suggesting if you do want to do a hard reset is to download and install SEUS or SUS from here emma.extranet.sonyericsson.com/update_service_setup once done run it and follow the onscreen instructions the blue LED you refer to only appears when you hold the volume button up and then connect the usb cable which you will have to do to enter flash mode or you could run PCC and run the repair function by following the onscreen instructions.

For a successful technology, reality must take precedence over public relations, for Nature cannot be fooled.   Richard P. Feynman

One time poster
Akshay-XperiaS

thanks for the reply.. In my case, since I think its a s/w issue, could i do something to completely erase all data from every register of the phone ie wipe it completely clean and re-install the os??