Please help us improve our website

Take our customer survey to evaluate your visit.

It should only take a few minutes to answer five quick questions. Just click the Launch survey button at the end of your visit to begin.

Announcements

What do you think about our community?

Take a moment and share your thoughts around this community by doing this short survey.

Reply
One time poster
bbfl
Posts: 111
Registered: ‎2012-05-17

How to fix "Insufficient Storage Available"

Hello,

I have tried to install some updates in Play Store but I got this message "Insufficient Storage Available". I googled for a fix and found that article - http://www.ganshani.com/2012/01/11/fix-insufficient-storage-available-on-android/

So does anyone tried this and can you tell me if it is working?

I know I can do it if I root my phone but I don't want to so I am looking for a solution without rooting the phone!

Thanks

UPDATE:

Here is the process of how to change the default location of installing apps on your phone directly to SD card.

I decided to write the instructions here from the website above as it's loading slowly or sometimes it's just not working.

Before you start I want to say that it's absolutely safe process and it won't brick your phone and you don't need to root your phone to perform the next steps.

Step 1:  Download and Install Java Development Kit from Oracle’s website (approximately 87 MB).

Step 2: Download and Install Android SDK from Google’s website. I preferred the recommended Windows Installer

Step 3: Run Command Prompt with Administrator Privileges on Windows 7 or Windows 8 OS.  [Start Menu –> type in cmd –> Right click the Command Prompt –> Run as Administrator.  The UAC will prompt you with a dialog which you should click as ‘Yes’]

Step 4:  If you have installed the latest version of Android SDK (SDK Manager Revision 16 or later), then type in following commands on cmd:

(You may want to verify & replace the folder on which you have installed the SDK. If you are using an older version of Android SDK, you may want to give a try at following path C:\Program Files (x86)\Android\android-sdk\tools or if you have installed the SDK in different location change it when you type the command in cmd).

cd C:\Program Files\Android\android-sdk\platform-tools

Step 5: On your Android phone, go to Settings –> Applications –> Development and enable USB Debugging. Once done, connect the phone to your laptop/desktop via USB cable.

Step 6: Execute the following command:

adb shell pm getInstallLocation

You would get an output as: 0[auto]

In Android, Install Location has 3 values

0 [auto] – Let the system decide the best location.

1 [internal] – Install the application on internal device storage. This means any internal storage provided with your device.

2 [external] – Install the application on external media. This means any SD, microSD cards attached to your device.

Step 7: So let’s change the default location to 2[external]. Type the following command:

adb shell pm setInstallLocation 2

This will change the default installation location to SD card of all the applications that you install henceforth. What about those that are already installed on device storage? I am sure you were unable to move all of them to SD card earlier. You can give it a try now! Alternatively, you can download an application Apps2SD and manually move them to SD card.

To check if the settings changed or not, you can execute Step 6 again and check the results.

Step 8: Disable USB debugging on your phone. Close the Command Prompt and enjoy!

If there was something else you would like to say, drop in a comment.

Message was edited by: bbfl

Community Manager
Johan
Posts: 8,438
Registered: ‎2010-11-12

Re: How to fix "Insufficient Storage Available"

You could try run this app:

https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=mobi.infolife.cache&rdid=mobi.infolife.cache&rdot=1

If not possible you will have to clear some space on phone memory first. And check that all SD supported app are moved to SD card.

sony_logo126x24.gif
What are your thoughts about this forum? Let us know by doing this short survey.

One time poster
bbfl
Posts: 111
Registered: ‎2012-05-17

Re: How to fix "Insufficient Storage Available"

Thanks for the tips but I've already tried to clean the app cache with App2Sd, I have moved all the movable apps from phone memory to SD memory and I still have no enough memory but that's because I have installed a lot of applications. So The only way is to uninstall some apps but I don't want to. So that's why I am asking if that way whcih I have mentioned above is safe to perform it or it can void my warranty?

Thanks

One time poster
gcs94
Posts: 85
Registered: ‎2011-09-19

Re: How to fix "Insufficient Storage Available"

The link you provided will not work

If you have Titanium Backup installed before,

Try uninstall it and delete App Manager folder from your SD card.

It fix my problem. I dont know about you though.

One time poster
bbfl
Posts: 111
Registered: ‎2012-05-17

Re: How to fix "Insufficient Storage Available"

The link is working just wait a little bit more because it's loading slowly. I don't have Titanium Backup installed.

One time poster
zhur9
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎2012-10-10

Re: How to fix "Insufficient Storage Available"

Hi, try delete all files in application installer. Its work for me. no need download application like history eraser or else.

Visit the link to know how to fix this problem http://ibn-yusoff.blogspot.com/2012/10/a-simple-step-to-fix-insufficient.html

One time poster
bbfl
Posts: 111
Registered: ‎2012-05-17

Re: How to fix "Insufficient Storage Available"

Well thanks but I don't have such app installed.

One time poster
PetarIvanov
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎2012-11-25

Re: How to fix "Insufficient Storage Available"

Do this in UPDATE section requires a root or not ?

One time poster
bbfl
Posts: 111
Registered: ‎2012-05-17

Re: How to fix "Insufficient Storage Available"

No, you don't need to root your phone.

One time poster
PetarIvanov
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎2012-11-25

Re: How to fix "Insufficient Storage Available"

I do all steps but default location do not change, the only effect is that now i can transfer more apps to SD than before, but when i install new App it is installed to Phone